Year 7

Year 7 Learning Outline

Year 7 students have entered Stage 4 and study the following mandatory subjects defined by the New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA).

What subjects will my child study at school this year?

English, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, Personal Development/Heath/Physical Education, Technology, Language (French), Visual Arts, Music, Drama and Learning Skills.

How are student classes formed?

Year 7 is made up of five core classes seven technology classes. We have two Academic Selective classes and two Talented Technology classes with other students grouped in mixed ability classes. In forming these classes,  student gender and learning and development needs have been taken into account to carefully arrange the best mix in each class. The core classes remain together for all subjects except for Technology and Visual Arts where they have been divided into smaller class groups.

How do we know what assessments students need to do?

The Assessment Policy is available for download and contains a summary of all formal assessment undertaken by students during Year 7. Examinations within lessons are part of the assessment program for Year 7 students.  Parents and students are encouraged to regularly check this page for relevant posts. Teachers will increasingly add task notifications that provide details and requirements for assessments to this page.

Download: 2022 Year 7 Assessment Guidelines

inspire_iconCreated with Sketch.


Innovative learning spaces that empower students to work collaboratively, creatively and critically.

learn_iconCreated with Sketch.


Integrated technology, developing all students as confident learners through an engaging curriculum.

succeed_iconCreated with Sketch.


Engaging all students in positive growth and individualised success in all areas of school life.